Natalie Nowytski at a microphone

songbook details :: Perekotypole (Natalie Nowytski)

:: back ::

Perekotypole songbook cover

about the project

New Ukrainian folk songs by Natalie Nowytski set to the poetry of Nadia Lan, for a cappella ensemble. Fully transliterated (Romanized) sheet music, translations, original Cyrillic, contextual information, and pronunciation guide. Accompanying reference CD planned for the future.

song list

  1. Duma pro "bazar" (Epic About the "Bazaar")
  2. Vichne (Eternal)
  3. Promin' (Ray/Beam)
  4. Materi—stradnytsi (To the Afflicted Mother)
  5. Pisnja nepovorottsja (Song of the Irrecoverable)
  6. Shukannja (The Search)
  7. Syniv shukajut' (They Search for Their Sons)
  8. Vinok na mohylu "500" (500 Wreaths on the Grave)
  9. Mamam (For Mothers)
  10. Tatovi (For Dad)
  11. Do molodi (To Youth)
  12. Mystets'ke hnizdo (Artistic Nest)
  13. Indyche svjato (Turkey Holiday)
  14. Perekotypole (Tumbleweed)
logos for Minnesota State Arts Board and Clean Water Land and Legacy Amendment

Natalie Nowytski is a fiscal year 2015 recipient of an Artist Initiative grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board. This activity is funded, in part, by the Minnesota State Legislature from the State's arts and cultural heritage fund with money from the vote of the people of Minnesota on November 4, 2008.

home :: bio :: discography :: samples :: press :: events :: lessons :: news :: photos :: links :: contact